The parenting is political.

So, you know, the world is shit. (At least here in the U.S.) This post is about that.

  1. Gus asked us this morning what we wanted to do today. We said we were going to a rally, like the march last weekend. He asked why and Lesley muttered, “This is how we spend our time now.” I don’t think he is old enough to be making permanent memories here but there is a part of me that is kind of happy he will grow up going to protest. marches, and rallies. It’s a pretty small part of me, clearly.
  2. Lesley and I had a conversation where she asked me what we would be doing right now if we didn’t have a kid. I said I am not sure I would feel the same sense of urgency. She said she would be chaining herself to shit. I am normally the more fired up person so it is interesting to see her as worked up if not more.
  3. I am a part of a big mom facebook group that has a political subgroup. I am part of the political subgroup, too. It’s one of my favorite places on the internet. It is mostly liberal and has smart people in it – lobbyists, former conservatives, average folks. On Friday the subgroup got kicked out of being associated with the main group for some super bullshit reasons with a claim of not being tolerant enough of other’s opinions. It’s all weird and strange and surprisingly emotional. It’s brought a conversation into both groups about whether or not parenting at it’s core is political (subgroup says yes, most of main group says no) It’s honestly a question I had never considered. Of course parenting is political. The existence of my family is political. The existences of so many families (queers, immigrants, POC…) are political. This has made me so angry at people who don’t care about politics.
  4. We have family members who voted for Trump. They have not told us but we have a small list of folks we know did. This includes some of our parents. Some of these are people who not only supported him but by no means would denounce a single thing he has done. We’re kind of at a loss. At what point in this do we say that their support for them will not be tolerated by us? What is tolerating it? They do not speak of it (we mainly see things “liked” on facebook) but will there be a line where it severely changes or ends our relationship with them? We don’t know. We are in the midst of planning a trip to see all of our family this summer. It sure puts a damper on it. (Not all of our parents voted for him and a few are unknown.) We’re not sure where to go from here.

So yeah, there is no real end to this post – this is just the stuff I keep thinking about without any real answer. This is why I am 4000 years behind at work.

Posted on January 30, 2017, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 12 Comments.

  1. Link to the subgroup or PM me?

    2017 is the year of social justice / political activism for us. And I’m not bitter or anything (I am) but this December, the grandma & grandpa who voted for this new president will be getting a calendar for 2018 with 100% pictures of their grandchildren protesting & working to undo the damage that the new president is inflicting. Normally their calendar is filled with cutesy pictures of the grandkids with their grandparents.

    We’re committed to protesting, rallying, letter-writing, and just plain being present every month this year and for the foreseeable future.

  2. I agree with you that parenting is political! I likely wouldn’t be going to visit family members who voted for trump. It screams of latent homophobia. My stomach drops every time I listen to NPR now. I haven’t taken any action as I feel frozen. I just keep teaching and raising Wallace.

  3. Wow. Mom group drama never ceases to amaze me. I completely agree that parenting is political. Daily life is political. We live the lives we live because of something political somewhere down the line of history–whether it’s yesterday or 100+ years ago. That’s just plain fact. I can’t believe people think it’s up for debate. (Scratch that–I can believe it. I can believe almost anything these days.)

    As for T-supporting family, well–I’m sure you’ve read enough on my blog and Facebook to know we face a similar predicament. I can’t even pretend to have answers. All I know is that the thought of removing those people from my life (and Charlotte’s) does not give me any peace, so I haven’t, and very likely won’t.

Leave a Reply

