Goings on

I think we’ve reached the point where having a kid gets better every day. Sure, there are some challenges (we learned a lot of tips for future hotel stays this weekend…) but he’s doing so many fun things. So here I am going to list some for you so you can either a) get excited about your baby’s future or b) reminisce about how cute your kid was at 17 months. (You might know some of these already if you are on book face with me.)

– When he jumps off things he says, “tah dah!”

– He’s trying to jump with involved crouching down and then jumping up without his feet leaving the ground but his hands in the air.

-He’s giving good, intense hugs. We took him to a real live hockey game on Saturday night and he tried to hug everyone around us. When he hugs one of us he immediately looks for the other to hug them, too. He’s got to be fair.

-He still doesn’t pucker to kiss but just puts his entire open mouth on your face, often while squeezing your neck very hard.

-He has a three word phrase: Kick the ball. He says this often.

-When he is done with something he hands it to you and says, “Thank you.”

-We went to ikea yesterday and of course the toy section is the first section. He saw a stuffed dog and was a bit insistent about it. I gave it to him thinking that as we moved through the store we’d lose interest and we could just set it down. He did not lose interest. He held it and hugged it the entire time. He held and and hugged it the whole two hour drive home. He held it and hugged it falling asleep last night and all night. He ran to get it off his bed after he got dressed this morning. He insisted that it ride with him to daycare. He is totally in love with it.

-He can do some of the motions for song! He can do some itsy bitsy spider and another song we sing at our baby group.

-He learned the sign (from daycare?) for dog so whenever you say dog he pats his leg.

 

I’m sure there are more I just can’t think of and have to get back to work!

Posted on March 14, 2016, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 10 Comments.

  1. There are so many wonderful things about this age!

  2. He is seriously just the cutest little man. I absolutely LOVE your Facebook posts about him. He just makes me smile.

    • 🙂 he’s so much fun. We’re just now getting to the point that I thought about when I thought about parenting pre kid. Because, you know, I wasn’t really looking forward to not sleeping and inconsolably screaming.

  3. Ack, the cute, it’s killing me.

    I feel like so far I think every age is the best age, but all of that is making me look forward to toddlerhood.

  4. Yes! I love that age! Gus is such a hoot. 🙂

    Thus far in parenting, I still find myself liking each new stage a little bit more than the last. They sleep a little better, they communicate a little better, their interests, abilities, and imagination expand a little more…

Leave a Reply

