Potty

So I think we’re doing some potty learning over here.

Before Christmas we made our annual “spend a shit ton at ikea because Christmas money” trip. One of the things we got was a potty for Gus. We didn’t make a big deal about it, maybe said “look, Gus’ potty!”, set it in the bathroom and went about our lives. We got him this potty book for Christmas, read it a few times and then set it on his potty. I’ve picked up a few more potty books cheap and added another on top of his potty. (I can’t handle how many times I’ve already said potty in this post.) we figured that was our rough starting point and we’d come back to this later.

Last Thursday after coming home from the hospital I went to the bathroom and Gus came in, said “potty”, and sat down. Figuring I had nothing to lose I took his diaper off and read his potty book while he peed in his potty. Over the weekend he repeated this multiple times- about 3 to 4 times a day. Only one time has this series of events not ended with pee in his potty. Most of it has been led by him but we do take him to the potty when he first wakes up in the morning and from naps. Yesterday morning he pooped in the potty and did again this morning. He’s really getting the hang of this!

I told his daycare provider and she’s on board with letting him explore this curiosity and is offering him the potty at diaper changes (when the big kids go potty). I’m not sure if he’s taken her up on that offer yet.

At this point we have no plan. I can tell you that doing any sort of potty training at 16.5 months was not on our radar. But I don’t want to miss an opportunity. I think if we were home with him all day and left a diaper off and constantly checked in he’s do fairly well but I don’t think that would translate into in public success. I do not want to push him but also don’t want to underestimate what he is capable of. I’m not sure I’m ready for this!

Posted on February 12, 2016, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 22 Comments.

  1. Just do it! It seems early, but our parents were all potty trained by 1.5, 2 at the latest. This whole keeping your kids in diapers til they are 4 thing is a new thing šŸ™‚

    • I just really have no idea how to do this/what to expect. I guess this weekend google and I will have some one on one time.

      • I know you’re not quite there yet, I don’t think anyway, but for us it all pretty much boiled down to taking the diaper away and sticking with not putting one on. She pooped and peed all over the house like a puppy for maybe a week, then accidents became increasingly rare. When she had an accident we were careful not to say “that’s ok”, because it wasn’t ok, we just said, “oops, you made a mistake. We go potty on the potty, not the floor or wherever”.

      • I’m most worried about out of the house stuff but I suppose that getting things down at home will let us know how often he is going.

      • Yeah, you’ll get the hang of it. Just bring extra clothes everywhere and take him to the bathroom a million times šŸ™‚

  2. I love that you’ve let him take the lead on this so far. Life without diapers (even daytime only) is a revelation. If he’s on board, embrace it! And get ready to start using the word potty in adult conversation…my co-workers have been quite tolerant over the years.

    • Potty training has been super scary to me because I feel like it is somewhere that I struggle for the right language. I really don’t want to talk about good/bad (referring to accidents as bad, or baby in a bad way, that kind of things) so I have been stressed since before he was born about how to encourage without degrading. So this happening early is awesome – I feel like it gives us time to let it build without the pressure.

      • That’s interesting. I don’t think I ever saw it as a judgement thing. I remember saying “good job” and making a. If deal when she did use the potty successfully but the less successful moments were very much framed in terms of “it’s hard to listen to your body/bladder” and “we’ll try again next time.” I’m sure you all will do great!

      • Yeah, I think good job is great – I just hear so much of “only babies go in the diaper” and that kind of crap but that’s also what happens when everyone I’ve seen potty train a kid in the last ten years lives in the midwest. šŸ˜‰ I think that this happening early just takes the stress off of feeling like we have to do this.

      • Yay for stress relief! This may be one of those parenting things that you just have to aggressively model not for him but for other grown-ups and call people out when they don’t pick up on it. I did this with several other milestone (big kid bed vs big girl bed and asking about her day vs being a big sister after her sibling arrived) and it really just drove me bonkers that people were so oblivious. The thing that surprised me, though, was how motivating certain strategies that I wanted to avoid (aspiring be a big kid, for example) ended up being sometimes. But not always and certainly not by default! All about reading the situation and the kid and yeah…you got this. šŸ™‚

  3. Fun times ahead! I don’t think 16 months is too early if he’s showing interest. We went through a couple stints before Henry was two where he would be interested, and then not, before we began potty training in earnest (i.e. letting him run around naked).

  4. Gus man, all advanced! This could mean awesome things in your near future!

  5. Yay, Gus! Totally think you are approaching it with the right mindset. Just keep a consistent low pressure routine going and the rest will eventually happen. Wallace had a few months of at home pottying before I jumped into pottying out. Part of it was his low tone and that still is hard with the full sized toilet. One thing I’ve emphasized with him is listening to his body. I talk about how my body tells me when my bladder is full and when I need to poop. He gets the basics that the things we eat and drink make our poop and pee.

  6. Way to goC

  7. I’m late to the party, but Gus, that’s awesome!

    I’m not sure how you’re going about it and if you’re keeping him completely nude from the waist down, this is a moot point, but in our experience, Thatcher would use the toilet and then ALWAYS pee just a TEENY bit once the underwear came back on. (For a few weeks anyway.)

    The pediatrician told us the sensation of going from air back into the underwear causes them to pee just a little bit while they get used to emptying their bladder entirely. So we left it – it was that small of an amount – but just letting you know in advance if you notice this because we went through like 15 pairs of underwear on the first day because we couldn’t figure out what was happening!

    Also, we had him sit. That was just a preference since toilets in the W bathroom tend to sit higher off the floor than in the M bathroom and we’d obviously be taking him into the W bathroom. (He thinks it’s W for wicked cool people.)

    Such a new adventure for you all! Have fun!

  8. That is awesome!!! šŸ™‚ And not that it matters, but I don’t think it’s too early at all. R was rockin’ potty training at 10 months – and then W came along and we totally dropped the ball on it. I am a firm believer in the philosophy of jumping on it when they show interest. That’s the best time to learn anything! Go G! šŸ™‚

    All of the advice I found on the matter suggests keeping the kid naked from the waist down for at least the first 3 days, rather than having them in underwear/training pants. I think because of what ^TheLadyKing said and also because the bare feeling makes them more aware of their bodily functions.

  9. I remember being in a nice French bakery in California when I was little, and my mom asking where the potty was…for herself. She tried to laugh it off, but it’s one of those weird memories that makes me cringe as I start trying to use that word more and more with Geronimo, lol.

Leave a Reply

