Birth, Babies, and Birthdays

We’ve almost made it. Friday my sweet boy, August John, turns 1. Here are my thoughts on some things from the last year.

On Birth:
Do what feels right for you, not anyone else.
Surround yourself with people that support your choices.
If you plan on breastfeeding, know information about lactation consultants in your area before giving birth.
Hire a photographer and make a list of pictures you want. (We had a friend take picture’s during Gus’ birth. While they are amazing there are some shots I would have loved to have that I don’t. I wish I would have made a list.)
When you are in labor, if there is time, have you and your partner both shower. (In said birth pictures we both kind of look like drowned rats.)
Soup stock. In labor my midwife had me drink soup stock and it kept my energy up. This is my big tip for pregnant ladies.
Anything you are afraid of is not going to be a big deal in the moment. My friend was afraid of pooping during birth – she did, did not care. I was afraid of tearing – I did, did not care. Didn’t even notice.

On Babies:
Do what feels right for you, not anyone else.
You will not enjoy every second. That’s just fine. No one does.
Surround yourself with like minded parents.
Never talk about baby sleep on the internet if you don’t want to hear what people have to say.
Never talk about baby sleep on the internet if you think you want to hear what people have to say.
Push your boundaries to go out of your comfort zone and meet new people.
A pediatrician is there for medical help, not parenting advice.
You will never take enough pictures.
You will likely not complete a baby book.
Get a calendar to jot down milestones. You’re not going to remember to put them in said baby book later.
Try hard not to compare your baby to other babies.
Ask for help when you need it.
Talk with your partner (if you have one) about parenting decisions big and small. Get on the same page now.
All your relationships will change. I look at people now as part of my son’s life, not mine. I care very little about casual friendships – I want folks who will be in his life long term. I am less willing to put up with bullshit.
Don’t make decisions in the moment. Especially if those decision are about sleep and the moment is 2 am.

On Birthdays:
For the love, don’t have a first birthday potlucks. We had three first birthday potlucks in one day a few Saturday’s okay. You are asking parents with one year olds to bring food. Also, potlucks make it hard for people to ghost which is my preferred way to leave any party.
Don’t go overboard. We know two babies who got sick and missed their own parties. 😦
Don’t put too much pressure on things – this is a day for you all.
It’s okay to be excited and sad.

Okay, so those are my thoughts! Gus turns one tomorrow – I’m a bit shocked. We’ve got some great pictures from his first birthday photo shoot I’ll try to put up on WP tonight.

Posted on October 1, 2015, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 10 Comments.

  1. I can’t believe it’s already been a year!

    – Cade

  2. What wonderful lists! Happy birthday Gus!

  3. Happy birthday! And happy you gave birth day!
    I can get on board with that list. I made several of those rookie mistakes with Ali 🙂

  4. Happy birthday Gus and moms!

  5. Happy Birthday! And, that is some sound first year advice.

  6. I’m right there with you in a simple first birthday! They really aren’t even ready for all that super party stimulation yet:) happy birthday Gus!!!

  7. Happy 1st birthday Gus! And happy 1st Anniversary as awesome moms to you both!

  8. Happy Birthday Gus!! I can’t believe it’s been a year already!

Leave a Reply

