Lesbian moms

My best friend and I have a certain dance we do that we call “the lesbian mom dance”. We have done this for many years and it is mainly something we do to get the other’s attention when we see lesbian moms so we can look lovingly at them together. She is now a lesbian mom and we still do this dance.

There is really little more exciting than seeing lesbians in public with their babies. Especially when you want to be a lesbian mom. It brings me such an insane amount of joy – it’s absurd.

Last night we went to a minor league baseball game in our town. As Lesley and I were standing in line to get ice cream in a tiny hat, a woman behind us asked when I was due. That in and of itself is excited because I feel I just look gigantic, not pregnant. I told her and we chatted a little and she told me her son was however old (I honestly wasn’t paying that much attention at that point. I am pregnant and was in line to get ice cream – I was trying to figure out if we would be helped by the guy who was giving bigger scoops) and then pointed at her son and her partner.

Someone recognized that we are soon to be lesbian moms! We are now the people that I have been dancing about for 10 years! Maybe this will not excite any of you and maybe other people do not have a weird equivalent of the lesbian mom dance but holy smokes, it was a great moment.

baseball!

baseball!

Posted on July 14, 2014, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 9 Comments.

  1. I love this picture of the two of you ❤

  2. Hee! Yes! I passed what I’m pretty sure were lesbian moms on a recent hike and just about kicked myself that I’d let my wife get so far ahead of my daughter and me. I’ve also been known to gratuitously interject awkward “mommy and mama” comments into conversations in public spaces when I sense a gay presence in the area. Of course this usually results in my daughter staring at me like she has no idea what I’m talking about, which I’m sure does wonders for my cause…

    • Gay parental presence, I mean…

    • This is fantastic. I’m glad to know we’re not the only ones and that I will continue to be awkward about it. The other 1/3 of our best friend trio (mom number 2, above) has a belief that all gay people should have a rainbow that lights up over their head that can only be seen by other gay people. I feel like this would be especially helpful in trying to converse/make friends with the other gay parents.

  3. Cutest couple!

    I love seeing lesbian moms out and about. Makes me feel so warm inside!

  4. At the dog park I see a lot of gay pet parents, it’s fun. I hope we are able to find as many other gay human parents. 🙂

  5. I drop the awkward hints of lesbian momism when I sense the presence of other 2 mom parents. I have no idea why I do that, but I’m glad to know I’m not the only one! LOL. You guys are ADORABLE!!

  6. We don’t do a lesbian dance but our equivalent is looking at each other and making that “awwwww! so freaking cute” face…and we make it our business to always say congrats to another lesbian couple, cuz we all know the never ending DRAMA to get preggers…u guys are so adorable…::currently making the ::awww so freaking cute:: face!

Leave a Reply

