It’s a….

baby! 

 

The 20 week ultrasound went great. They have no reason for concern and report that steakums is growing on schedule and weighs 13 ounces. (In case anyone else needs to ask someone else, there are 16 ounces in a pound.) There were no concerns and we were able to not find out the sex of the baby.

One of the reasons we did the 20 week ultrasound was to get a good look at the heart. When we told our doctor we were using a midwife we asked her what she would suggest we do, if anything. She suggested the 20 week ultrasound because of there was any heart problems you wouldn’t be able to tell just by hearing it and where we live heart problem doesn’t just mean hospital delivery – it means hospital delivery two hours away. While the doctor would have liked to see a bit more of the heart and steakums would not cooperate, she said she wasn’t worried about anything and didn’t need to push it. The heart rate had calmed down (which is normal) and was at 144 when it has always been over 160.

So, maybe this is a bad omen for our parenting but we both thought the ultrasound was totally creepy. I was really touched by our 8 week one but it’s kind of creepy to look at your baby without skin. I’m normally not a fan of 3d ultrasounds but they showed us a 3d shot and I almost found those less alarming until Lesley pointed out that in one shot steakums looks like a pug dog.

So here is a shot of this babe. Feel free to start your boy/girl guesses.

Image

Posted on May 10, 2014, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 12 Comments.

  1. twomamasonebaby

    Beautiful baby! I’m guessing girl. 🙂 And as you may have read in my Tuesday post, yes – best to keep a close eye on that little heart. Better safe than sorry and all that. I’m glad it went well!’

  2. That right there is a girl. 😀

  3. It’s an adorable baby. 🙂 I’m not going to speculate on the sex. I’m glad he or she is healthy.

  4. I always go by the heartbeat, but darnit, if you didn’t change it up on me. LOL. I could go back to see how close to ovulation you did the insemination, but well, that takes all the fun out of it, so I’m going with a boy!!

  5. I think its a girl, too. I am so happy for you, what a relief to get good news. I also found the ultrasound creepy, especially the images of the spine.

  6. Congrats on a healthy baby! I think the 3d ones are creepy too, we haven’t seen one of our babe, which is probably good.

  7. Boy for sure. Glad he has a head. 🙂

  8. Lol nearly every ultrasound freaked me out just because I couldn’t connect that what I was seeing on the screen was inside of me. It was like watching an alien haha I am always relieved to see/hear the heart beat and know that everything is going well but it’s still blows my mind. DP is always like aaaawwwww and I’m always going weeeiirrddd! Even now at 32 weeks! Lol

Leave a Reply

