Worthy

I went to my first prenatal yoga class yesterday. I bought a groupon for it about six weeks ago but hadn’t been yet. I blames that on my hatred for new things but realized yesterday at the class that I didn’t feel I deserve to be there. I didn’t think I was pregnant enough. I am 19 weeks pregnant. There were three other women in the class who were 19 weeks and one who was 18. No one made me feel uncomfortable and it was a really great experience. Plus, with three other women who are 19 weeks there I have found my opportunity to have my child live out The Sisterhood of the Traveling Pants.

It’s just really starting to hit me that I am pregnant. That’s absurd because I am getting pretty big but I feel it’s starting to be noticeable and exciting. Then it hit me that I am going to be someone’s mom and that really threw me for a loop. I told Lesley this and then later when we are at the thrift store and I bought some nice elastic waist maternity shorts for summer she laughed at me and said, “Wow, you really are about to be someone’s mom.”

So this is it. It’s real and I can just be pregnant and do things that pregnant women do, like go to yoga and buy super fancy belly lotion to combat the itches and demand Dairy Queen at all hours. And while I have only gained four pound thus far it seems my belly is accepting this too.

20140504-173958.jpg

Posted on May 5, 2014, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 13 Comments.

  1. It will continue to surprise you! I used to send a text to a friend ever time I thought “omg I’m pregnant!” It hit me today that he will always be my son and I will always be his mom. Just took me 14 months… Lol

  2. You look great! That astonishment doesn’t really go away! I mean, when that baby comes out, you will find a new astonishment of newborn, and then the toddler, and then the … whatever stage. I swear it doesn’t go away. I -STILL- can’t believe we have a kid and Kim is constantly teasing me about it. But it really doesn’t go away!

  3. twomamasonebaby

    Look at that baby belly! I love it! I feel ya on the whole being someone’s mom thing. It’s such a bizarre feeling.

  4. That moment when you realize you are going to be someone’s mom is pretty crazy. It still blows me away. Kind of intimidating. You are in the pregnancy sweet spot right now, enjoy every moment! And those shorts are a wise investment, it’s going to get pretty hot soon for us.

  5. I hope you enjoy your yoga class!

    I took a class at about the same point and, as it ended up, I’m glad I took it a little earlier on. We spent a lot of time putting weight on our hands or wrists and that only got more difficult as I got more and more swollen.

    I did take away A LOT as far as relaxation, meditation, and just the whole mindfulness thing. I will 100% vouch for the fact that it saved me loads of pain during the actual labor.

    Good luck!

Leave a Reply

