If this is it

You know what is a bad idea? Trying new things during the two week wait.

A few weeks ago, after some time at a bar, our friends J and N, our rommate, K the Canadian, and Pot and I decided to have gluten free January. People who are not actually allergic to gluten say they felt better when they stopped eating gluten so we made an agreement to try it out. Unfortunately, this means that I am paying a lot of attention to how my body feels. Does it feel different? If so, am I pregnant or is it the lack of gluten?

I’ve been wanting to take a yoga class and our Parks and Rec had a free class tonight so Pot and I went before I decided whether or not to sign up for the 11week class. Now, I should add that I am the least flexible person in the world. I’m debating whether to sign up because tonight pushed my limits but I figure that some flexibility will be helpful for my eventual plans of pushing a baby out of my vagina in a tub in my living room. I struggled most when the crazy man had us do multiple lunges. I had to lay down because I very nearly vomited. Was the nausea because I am pregnant or because I have no done lunches since I was maybe 12?

After month one I have done a good job of not symptom watching during the two week wait. This time that is out the window. Up until yesterday, 6 dpo, I was 70/30. 70% sure this is it, 30% sure this is not. Last night when I went to bed those numbers shifts to be about 40/60. Then today I had dull lower back pain all day. I get a lot of lower back pain but this feels different. But does it feel different or do I just want it to feel different?

I am hoping that I will feel it one way or another in the next couple days. I don’t want to test until after my period is late which would be at least the 18th. That’s a long ways away and gives me plenty of time for my hopes to diminish. I just hope that if this is it my body let’s me know. So yo body, if this is it, please let me know. If this is baby time, please say so.

Posted on January 10, 2014, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. twomamasonebaby

    Fingers, toes, legs, and arms crossed SO hard for you! All I can say is, you never know an this really *could* be your month!!

    I’m probably about as inflexible as you, but have done yoga in the recent past, so really want to get into it again and find a prenatal yoga class. šŸ™‚

    • I want to take a general yoga class for now and hope to move into a prenatal class at 5-6 months. I feel like starting now will have keep my motivation high then.

      • twomamasonebaby

        Good plan! I’m going to start going back to the regular yoga class at my gym and then move to prenantal soon-ish, depending on how I’m feeling. The gym owner is the instructor and she’s pretty hardcore.

        I was just looking around online and found one that’s Thursday evenings and you can drop in for $10, so I’ll probably check that one and see how I like it. I like that it’s not on a Saturday morning (since I work) and that there’s no commitment. And they have mom and baby classes, which I think is awesome.

  2. As someone who’s been gluten-free for almost 8 years, here’s my two cents:

    Gluten-free can be a decent diet as long as you don’t eat a lot of “gluten-free” food (i.e. gluten-free versions of food). Eating more things like brown/wild rice, beans, vegetables, unprocessed foods, etc is good.

    Most people going off of gluten notice less flatulence because they’re eating less starch/simple carbs (assuming they’re not just buying gluten-free versions of their normal diets). You may notice constipation, as wheat is rich in fiber and you tend to have to work more to get the same amount elsewhere, rice/potato/etc flours for example are fairly low fiber. At any rate, you will notice your digestive process feels different as your gut adjusts. It shouldn’t affect, say, breast tenderness.

    I hope that’s helpful.

Leave a Reply

